Texas Independence Relay Part 4 of ?

16Apr13

It has been a while since I posted the last segment about my relay experience.

With the run now being almost one month in the past memories start to dwindle. Therefore I am very motivated to write down as much as I can remember before it is too late. Though in the first 3 segments I covered very exciting moments of the event.

My 3rd leg would be my first night run. At home I had run late in the evening and early in the day during the winter. I used some handheld lights and a bike light tail light, combined with my reflective vest. Those runs had been in my neighborhood, the area where I know the streets, the route, the dogs, basically it is an extension of my living room. For the relay I would be running in the middle of Texas in the middle of the night. Knowing that total darkness would surround me I bought a $80 high quality running headlamp at REI earlier this week. As much as I do not like to violate the “nothing new on race day” rule, I just did not have the time to take my new lamp for a test run.

So there I was at the starting line in the darkness ready to go. As I was about to start after 11pm, I instructed my team to head to the checkpoint and get some rest. I knew that a 5 mile leg would not be an issue for me, especially with the low temperatures. When I started I had lights of other runners in front of me. I pushed the pace and passed them one by one until, well until I was out there without anyone in front of me. No support van next to me, just me and the Texas Darkness in a beautiful spring night. I could hear coyotes howling in the woods that surrounded me, but my newly obtained light provided me with excellent view of the roads and my legs just carried on.

I got to the exchange after a little less than 39minutes, the other team was ready to run and  awaiting me. Once they headed out I looked down the road and saw hundreds of white van’s. Well in one of them would be my team… Off I went to find our van…

Once in the van we had a quick discussion if we would try to find a place to eat (at midnight in the middle of no-where in Texas, lol) or if we would just go ahead to our next exchange point and get some zzzz’s….

 

Find out next what we decided upon!

One Response to “Texas Independence Relay Part 4 of ?”

  1. 1 healthiestbeauty

    Reblogged this on The healthiest beauty.


Leave a Reply

