It’s all about perspective

01Apr13

I know all of you are very interested in reading what is next about the Texas Independence Relay, but I need to take a short break from the story to share my March wrap up.

At the end of every month I review and share my training totals for the month.

March is not just a month that ends, but also the end of the first quarter of this year.

The last month I run for 106 miles, biked 211 miles and swum 11.15 miles. This seems to me really very little. Now let’s compare this to last year same month 68R, 55B, 17 walking. As you can see I increased my running (walking) by 25%, my bike more than tripled and I did not even swim last year. This sounds pretty good, right? But why I am a bit disappointed with March?

Let’s look at my training time a total of March 2013 it took me 34:35 hrs to train the distances as above. This is the lowest amount of training I had done in a month since October 2012. Just a few month ago in January I had trained for over 56hours, which means my volume had dropped 40%.

The software I use quantifies all training with a training stress score in order to compare it. My score for March 2013 was 2,765, which is higher than previous month. On that note in February I trained more time, but with a lower TSS. Which means my intensity has gone up. But my 2,765 looks low compared to December with 3,847 TSS.

Now putting March 2013 versus the prior year it does look great as my TSS was 988.

Looking at my Q1 versus total 2012 is really interesting. So far in 2013 I did 515 R, 328 B and 31 S versus a total of 2012 1,027 R, 1,335 B and 52 S. It is clear that my bike is on par with last year as I have biked 25% of last years volume (consider that this year is only 25% over). Though that is really not enough volume for a Half Iron Man and I know I will surpass 2012 soon. My run is clearly ahead of last year as I have already half the volume. Assuming that I get redemption at the 2014 50k Cowtown breaking 2k miles is not out of question! The swim is my weakest leg and seeing that I am at 60% of last year is awesome. I used to shudder at a swim over 1,600 meter as I could not fit this into 60minutes, today I swam 2,300 meters in under an hour!

So it is all about perspective, compared to last year in total and March 2012 my month was just awesome. But now holding myself to a higher standard and comparing it to the last 6 month it doesn’t look so great anymore.

Taking a non statistical approach there are some great things in March: Running in my first 200m relay and the season opening Triathlon (Sprint) in Keller, TX.

Though where there is light… I was sick in March and missed 2 training days, beyond that I know my body had to fight off that flu. Then I had business travel which puts additional stress on the body and caused me to miss another training session. But worst is that my right hip is still bothering me.

So overall I guess it is not a horrible month, but it does have some stale taste to it.

Maybe I need to re-allign my perspective?

One Response to “It’s all about perspective”

  1. Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m
    looking for something completely unique. P.
    S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!


Leave a Reply

